NUG Appoints Eight Provincial Governors

News - Afghanistan

Tuesday, 19 May 2015 20:13 Last Updated on Tuesday, 19 May 2015 21:05 Written by

The National Unity Government announced Tuesday evening that it had appointed eight provincial governors.

Spokesman for Independent Directorate of Local Governance (IDLG) Tawab Ghozang reported that the government has finalized appointments of eight provincial governors.

According to Ghorzang, among those appointed are Saleem Khan Kunduzi as governor of Nangarhar province, Nusratullah Arsala as Paktia governor, Wahidullah Kalimzai as kunar governor, Mohammad Haleem Fedayee as Logar governor, Dr. Tahir Zuhair as Bamyan governor, Aminullah Shariq as Paktika governor, Mohammad Mirza Rahimi as Helmand governor and Mohammad Samiullah as Nimroz governor.

The appointments come at a time of rising public criticism against the government on the continued delay in appointing both a defense minister and 32 provincial governors. After today, twenty four governors still need to be appointed. Last week two governors were appointed – one for Herat and one for Kandahar.

Source : tolonews[dot]com
post from sitemap